Format change for Peter Morrison trophy

The latest Jewish News

Read this week’s digital edition

Click Here

Format change for Peter Morrison trophy

Hendon United A, the current Peter Morrison trophy winners

The Peter Morrison Trophy has undergone a a format change, aimed at providing lower league teams a greater chance to progress to the latter stages of the competition.

The Annual General Meeting of the National Maccabi Football Committee agreed that the Peter Morrison Trophy would be a national competition from the very first round – rather than northern and southern teams potentially playing each other in the latter stages. The changes will also see 14 teams excluded from the first round, the ten sides in the Maccabi GB Southern Football League Premier Division, along with four teams from what is known as the ‘Northern Area’, which will  be nominated by the Manchester Jewish Soccer League (MJSL) and will represent the four ‘best teams’ in the area.

The change is designed to make the competition more attractive and ensure more teams who are not at the ‘top of the tree’, have a chance of progressing to the latter stages of the competition.

All clubs looking to enter the Peter Morrison Cup – regarded as the ‘Jewish FA Cup’ – have until 31 July to register, while the first round draw will be made at the MGBSFL pre-season council meeting on 4 September.

Support your Jewish community. Support your Jewish News

Thank you for helping to make Jewish News the leading source of news and opinion for the UK Jewish community. Today we're asking for your invaluable help to continue putting our community first in everything we do.

Unlike other Jewish media, we do not charge for content. That won’t change. Because we are free, we rely on advertising to cover our costs. This vital lifeline, which has dropped in recent years, has fallen further due to coronavirus.

For as little as £5 a month you can help sustain the vital work we do in celebrating and standing up for Jewish life in Britain.

Jewish News holds our community together and keeps us connected. Like a synagogue, it’s where people turn to feel part of something bigger. It also proudly shows the rest of Britain the vibrancy and rich culture of modern Jewish life.

You can make a quick and easy one-off or monthly contribution of £5, £10, £20 or any other sum you’re comfortable with.

100% of your donation will help us continue celebrating our community, in all its dynamic diversity...


Being a community platform means so much more than producing a newspaper and website. One of our proudest roles is media partnering with our invaluable charities to amplify the outstanding work they do to help us all.


There’s no shortage of oys in the world but Jewish News takes every opportunity to celebrate the joys too, through projects like Night of Heroes, 40 Under 40 and other compelling countdowns that make the community kvell with pride.


In the first collaboration between media outlets from different faiths, Jewish News worked with British Muslim TV and Church Times to produce a list of young activists leading the way on interfaith understanding.


Royal Mail issued a stamp honouring Holocaust hero Sir Nicholas Winton after a Jewish News campaign attracted more than 100,000 backers. Jewish News also produces special editions of the paper highlighting pressing issues including mental health and Holocaust remembrance.

Easy access

In an age when news is readily accessible, Jewish News provides high-quality content free online and offline, removing any financial barriers to connecting people.

Voice of our community to wider society

The Jewish News team regularly appears on TV, radio and on the pages of the national press to comment on stories about the Jewish community. Easy access to the paper on the streets of London also means Jewish News provides an invaluable window into the community for the country at large.

We hope you agree all this is worth preserving.

read more: