U16 football squad announced for Euro Games

U16 football squad announced for Euro Games

U16 FOOTBALLThe squad who will be representing Team Maccabi GB’s at this summer’s European Maccabi Games in Berlin has been announced.

With Daren Nathan overseeing the squad, alongside Scott Ansher and Ricky Lawrence as his assistant and coach respectively, the youngsters will be looking to win gold in Germany – and if they can, will emulate their predecessors who claimed the title at the 2013 Maccabiah Games. The team also won gold at the European Maccabi Games 2011 in Vienna, so this year’s crop of players will hopefully complete the hat-trick this summer.

Speaking about the team, Nathan said: “It’s really pleasing that, having spent time trying to pick the right squad, our early training sessions have been superb and we definitely chose the perfect set of players. The boys have been committed and are getting on really well. We’ve got a great bunch of lads and the same in support from the parents. The [U16 Football] Management Team love the way everyone is getting on and we know they are already making new friends for life.”

When talking about the side’s goals for Berlin, he added, “Naturally, winning Gold would be special. But even more than that is having a good tournament, meeting Jewish teams from other countries and enjoying some good football. Scott, Ricky and I want the boys to create some great memories being part of the team and have an experience they will hold with them for the rest of their lives. I never had the opportunity to represent my country as a player but participating on behalf of Great Britain and the country’s Jewish Community for Team Maccabi GB will rank up there with the most exciting experiences in my life. I can also say this for the players and the coaches as well. I’m honoured to have been selected in the first place, now I want us all to do Team MGB proud.”

The squad is as follows:

Nathan Anders
Kieran Beech
Joe Bellman
Scott Bennett
Josh Burns
Rory Carlson
Nathan Davis
Adam Freedman
Sam Green
George Leigh
Harry Margolis
Jack Mattey
Reuben Rabstein
Alex Randall
Harry Russell
Josh Shack
Jack Showman
Tyler Smith

read more: