GB tennis squads named for Euro Games squad

GB tennis squads named for Euro Games squad

A member of the GB Tennis squad from 2011

The three tennis squads who will be representing Team Maccabi GB at this summer’s European Maccabi Games in Berlin have been announced.

The team will be well-represented in Germany with an impressive 41 athletes across all age groups. Making sure the participants stay on track for medals will be managers, James Vaughan (juniors), Nick Baum (open) and Kenny Collins & Stephen Joseph (masters). Overseeing them will be Tennis Chair, Victor Kevehazi.

GB have a proud tennis history at the EMG. Four years ago in Vienna, the side came back with one gold (junior girls), three silver (55+ singles, junior girls doubles and junior mixed doubles) and eight bronze medals (four masters singles, one masters doubles, one junior boys singles and two open doubles).

With a vast selection of athletes and Managers at his disposal the sports’ Chair, Victor Kevehazi, speaking about the squads, said: “We have an excellent squad across all age groups, with everyone excited to play in Berlin. This is an opportunity for friends, family and supporters to join the team when competing in this exciting city and I encourage any fans of Team Maccabi GB to travel the short journey over to Germany and celebrate what will undoubtedly be a historic tournament.”

Kenny Collins, manager of the masters squad, said: “I cannot express how proud I am to be managing the Team Maccabi GB Masters Tennis Squad. To bring all these Jewish athletes together in one team is a special sight. What is also impressive is the age range of the Masters athletes – from 35-years-old to over 70-years-old! It just shows how healthy their passion for sport is! I cannot wait for all the tennis players to land in Germany and start the historical, social and sporting elements of the European Maccabi Games.”



Manager: Kenny Collins

Assistant Manager: Stephen Joseph

Alex Barnett
John Barnett
Nick Baum
Rachel Benjamin
Rochelle Boyne
Nicola Buckwald
Stephen Carlin
Diane Cohen
Samantha Cohen
Kenny Collins
Barry Danser
Stephen Joseph
Ian Kay
Victor Kevehazi
Julian Kurer
Laura Mann Kevehazi
David Mattey
Philip Meir
Lee Meranda
Simon Millet
Dawn Moses
Geoffrey Ognall
Adam Pacifico
Alan Rechtman
Paul Sheeter
Charles Sherrard
Leonard Siskind
Richard Smith
Danielle Wagerman


Manager: Nick Baum

Charles Becker
Samantha Cohen
Andrew Gilbert
Isaac Segalov


Manager: James Vaughan

Samuel Abrahams
Adam Bloom
Elena Hikmet
Oliver Jacobson
Aaron Lewis
Emma Mattes
Jack Miller
Jono Mizrahi

read more: