Some of Anglo-Jewry’s greatest supporters in politics, the media and education have been shortlisted in the communal ally category of Night of Hero.

In front of a 400-strong audience of politicians, celebrities, community leaders and members, the Jewish News-LABS event next month will honour those whose inspirational actions, dedication and bravery rightly earn them the title ‘hero’.

Among the nine awards to be presented on the night will be one to someone outside the community who has used their voice to fight anti-Semitism and delegitimisation of Israel or in some other way supported British Jews in the media, politics and beyond.

From 10 incredible finalists – whittled down from nominations received – it is now down down to a public vote to decide who is named the winner of our Community Ally award, sponsored by the Ronson Foundation. The vote is open for just one week until 5pm on 24 January.

Justin Cohen, news editor of the Jewish News, said: “We may be a community of just 300,000 people but there are no shortage of friends on which we can rely, many of whom we’re delighted to recognise as Night of Heroes finalists. All 10 deserve this award so I don’t envy the decision now facing our readers.”

More than 250 nominations were received for Night of Heroes, for which the Jewish Leadership Council is communal partner.  A total of nine awards will be presented during the glittering evening in central London, with most winners being decided by our panel of judges drawn from the worlds of politics, media, business, charity and showbusiness.

The panel is made up of scriptwriter Ivor Baddiel, MP Luciana Berger, CCJ trustee Zaki Cooper, Now Teach operations director Libby Dangoor, Crossrider CEO Ido Erlichman, broadcaster Nick Ferrari, Jewish News editor Richard Ferrer, journalist Paul Kendall, City Hall director of external affairs Leah Kreitzman, fundraising consultant Ben Morrison, event company boss Hilary Newmark, education specialist Hayley Ronson, entrepreneur Emma Sinclair, talent manager Jonathan Shalit and Jewish Women’s Aid co-chair Hilda Worth.

To have your say, click on One vote per person.

The shortlisted 10 community allies you can chose from: Left column: Ian Austin, John Mann, Joan Ryan, Patrick Moriarty, Maajid Nawaz. Right column: Fiyaz Mughal, Sir Eric Pickles, Dr Nicola Wetherall, Mike Freer, Dilwar Hussein. VOTE HERE: