Next season’s MGBSFL will feature 34 teams – two more than it finished with last season – after the format for the new kick-off was confirmed at Monday night’s AGM.

Six new teams – Hertswood Vale, RCUK FC, Redbridge Jewish Care C, Finchley City, MH Dons – and a further team who’s name is yet to be confirmed will once more play in three divisions, as per last season, after the teams voted 18-15 in favour of it, over a four-division proposal. Ten teams will contest the Premier Division, with 12 teams each in Division’s One and Two. Happy with the slight increase in the number of teams, League chairman David Wolff said: “It’s obviously better than going the other way, but we’ll have to wait and see. It’s good to see the decline we’ve seen over recent years has now stopped and there are signs, although obviously not great in terms of numbers – that the trend is now going the other way.”

Among notable changes voted for was the introduction to the league for the first time of rolling substitutes, of which Wolff said: “It’s a good rule change and one which worked in the Peter Morrison trophy.”

A proposal to allow up to three players to be registered on the morning of the match (prior to kick-off), which required the opposition’s consent by signing the form, was though defeated.

The League will kick-off on 11 September, breaking from tradition of recent years which saw it start on the first weekend of September.