Jerusalem’s Teddy Stadium played host to Thursday evening’s Opening Ceremony

The 19th Maccabiah Games were formally opened on Thursday evening when more than 30,000 spectators and nearly 10,000 athletes packed the Teddy Stadium in Jerusalem.

As well as welcoming all the delegations into the ground – including Team GB’s 440 delegation, who were led out behind their three flag-bearers David Pinnick, Richard Goodman and Aimee Shulton the crowd were also addressed in the stadium by Benjamin Netanyahu and Shimon Peres, while video messages were shown from David Cameron and Barack Obama.

The three-hour ceremony was ended by the lighting of the Maccabiah flame, the honour of which went to American gold-winning London 2012 Olympic medallist Aly Raisman.



FRIDAY’S SCHEDULE: (times Israeli time)


Open vs South Africa – Round Robin Group – 10.00

Junior vs Israel – Round Robin Group – 10:00


Junior Athletes – 2nd Round Boys & Girls – 10:00


Masters Athlete – First Round Qualifying – 10:00

Richard Moss
Boaz Goldwater
David Masari
Josh Paris
Max Benaim
Aaron Sheribani


Maurice Lawson – Open/Grnd Mstr 2nd Rnd – 11:00


Masters vs Argentina – Group Stage – 11:00

Youth (U18)  vs Mexico – Group Stage B – 12:00

Open vs Spain – Group Stage B – 13:00

Juniors (U16) vs Spain – Group Stage A 15:45

Water Polo:

Open – Opening Ceremony – 11:30

Open vs Israel – Group Stage – 15:00


Junior (U18) vs Turkey – Group Stage B – 12:00

Ten Pin Bowling:

Opening Ceremony – 13:00

Lawn Bowls:

Open Athlete vs Zimbabwe – Men Singles Rnd Robin – 14:15

Open Bye – Men Fours Rnd Robin


Juniors vs South Africa – XV’s Group Stage – 15:30

Open vs Canada – XV’s Group Stage B – 16:50


Open vs Peru – Group Stage B – 16:00

Youth (U18) vs South Africa – Group Stage B – 16:00